Diploma of Ministry/Diploma of Theology

Diploma of Ministry/Diploma of Theology, which is a course of the Australian College of Theology (ACT), is an Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF) Level 5 award. It requires the completion of 144 credit points across 12–17 units depending upon your chosen mix of 8 credit point or 12 credit point units.

Why study this course?

  • Introduces you to the sources and content of the Christian story and message, and provides training which emphasises application and practice of this story and message in the contemporary world.
  • has a focus on units in Old Testament, New Testament, Theology, and Church History.
  • requires specialisation in units focused on ministry and practice:
  • Evangelism & Missiology (EM) and/or
  • Pastoral & Church Focused Ministry (PC) and/or
  • Developmental Ministry (DM)
  • The course will integrate studies in the Bible and Christian tradition with practical experience and include supervised practice-based learning where appropriate.

Through elective units you can develop particular ministry skills and develop foundational understanding

Course Delivery

Units will be taught in hybrid mode, i.e., students can attend class in-person on campus or attend online.

Course Structure

144 credit points (1.5 years full-time or up to 8.5 years part-time)


Full-Time Study

The Diploma of Ministry/Diploma of Theology can be studied full-time by studying 48 credit points per semester (= 4 x 12 credit point units per semester).


Part-Time Study

Students can also opt to study the Diploma of Ministry/Diploma of Theology part-time by studying a minimum of unit per semester.


Core Units Primary Discipline Units Elective Units
Old Testament Overview (OT003-512) [12 credit points]

New Testament Overview (NT003-512) [12 credit points]


Either a Church History unit OR a Theology unit [at least 8 credit points]

Up to 3 units (at least 24 credit points) in Ministry & Practice Units (units starting with PC/EM/DM)


Up to 3 units (at least 24 credit points) in Bible AND Christian Thought & Practice (units starting with BB/OT/NT/CH/TH/PE)

Select elective units from any field of study to reach the total 144 credit points

View the 2022 Timetable                                                  View the 2022 units

Your time commitment

Each 12 credit point unit requires 150 demand hours. This includes 36 hours of class time plus additional time for completing required readings as well researching for and writing your assignments.

Each 8 credit point unit requires 100 demand hours. This includes 24 hours of class time plus additional time for completing required readings as well researching for and writing your assignments.

Admission Requirement

The Diploma courses are Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF) Level 5 awards.

The admission requirement are:

  • ATAR: Completion of Year 12 with an ATAR of 65 or above; OR
  • Previous Qualifications: Successful completion of a qualification at AQF Level 5 or above; OR
  • Demonstrate Academic Suitability for course: Test, brief essay, or interview.

Language Qualifications for Non-English Speaking Background (NESB) students: IELTS 6.5 overall with minimum of 6.0 in each subtest OR 10 years in Australia with English being the language primarily spoken both at home and work.

For further information, refer to the ACT’s Coursework Course Enrolment Policy.

Course Learning Outcomes

Knowledge and Understanding

  1. Demonstrate essential knowledge of the Bible, Christian Thought & History and Ministry (in at least one area of Ministry & Practice) as academic disciplines
  2. Identify the essential biblical and theological foundations of Ministry
  3. Recognise the essential spiritual and ethical implications of biblical, theological and ministry knowledge and understanding

Inquiry and Analysis

  1. Collect, summarise, and analyse information from standard biblical, theological and social scientific sources and scholarship

Problem Solving and Integration

  1. Construct evidence-based perspectives and responses to essential biblical, theological and Ministry issues by using standard source materials and methods


  1. Present essential biblical, theological and ministry ideas, knowledge and principles to, and engage with, different audiences using a variety of formats

Teamwork and Professional Practice

  1. Under supervision, apply essential biblical, theological and ministry understanding in formal ministry contexts and the wider community

Engagement With the World

  1. Engage with essential challenges of contemporary Christianity, society and the wider world

Continuous Learning and Professional Development

  1. Demonstrate a capacity for reflection and learning to sustain personal and professional development in Christian life and ministry

Further information

To attend an information session please book here.

To book a phone call to discuss the course, email us at [email protected], supplying your mobile phone number and preferred time for a call.


Apply to study

Stay Updated
Fields marked with an * are required

Subscribe and keep updated with our latest news & events!