Diploma of Theology

The Diploma of Theology, which is a course of the Australian College of Theology (ACT), is an Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF) Level 5 award. It requires the completion of 96 credit points across 10–11 units depending upon your chosen mix of 8 credit point or 12 credit point units.


Of the 96 credit points in a Diploma of Theology, there are three core units (36 credit points):

  • Old Testament Overview  (12cp)
  • New Testament Overview  (12cp)
  • One Christian Thought unit: either Rise of Christianity: Acts to the Reformation (12 cp) or Foundational Christian Beliefs (12cp)


The remaining 60 credit points can then be made up of:

  • Three units with Bible and Christian Thought unit codes (OT, NT, BB, TH, CH)
  • Any five units at AQF level 5, which includes ministry & practice units.


A pathway through the Diploma of Theology could look like the following:


Stay Updated
Fields marked with an * are required

Subscribe and keep updated with our latest news & events!